Australian Information Industry Association


Enter Now

About the iAwards

For the past 25 years, the Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) has been driving an innovation nation through their iAwards program. The iAwards is Australia's longest running and most broadly scoped innovation recognition program, promoting excellence in the Australian digital ecosystem from the likes of Google Maps, Atlassian, Wotif and WiseTech Global.

The iAwards unearths, recognises and rewards excellence in Australian innovation that is making a difference and has the potential to create positive change for the community – whether this is at home, in the office or on a global scale. iAwards submissions are accepted from innovators across the whole Australian economy, whether you are an individual, a group, a government or private organisation, or a student.

2017 iAwards: Innovation at its Best!

From the radical reinvention of the humble coffee cup, through to teams improving vision for people with macular degeneration; from businesses highlighting gender diversity to those creating better outcomes for autistic students; from advances in telecommunications, cyber security, agricultural productivity and data analytics to trusted public sector open data platforms - to name just a few innovations that came through us in 2017. The depth and breadth of Australian innovation surfaced in the iAwards continues to inspire us all!

2018 iAwards: Celebrating 25 years of Innovation

This year the iAwards is celebrating its 25th anniversary and Silver Jubilee! As this is our 25th birthday, we’re going to get right into the birthday spirit. We promise that the 2018 iAwards will be an extraordinary program, celebrating 25 years of exceptional Australian innovation.

State iAwards Events

All entries are judged on a state level and each state then hosts an iAwards ceremony, where local branches, sponsors and members of the digital economy announce their Winners and Merit recipients. In 2018, a prestigious series of state based awards ceremonies and gala functions will be held, featuring State and Territory Premiers and Ministers to honour the best and most innovative solutions in each State or Territory.

Incite Awards Logo

In Western Australia, the INCITE Awards is the entry point to the National iAwards. Organised by the Western Australian Information Technology and Telecommunications Alliance (WAITTA), the INCITE Awards showcase the brilliance of ICT in Western Australia, and their reputation as a hub for innovation, ingenuity and disruption. For more information, please visit

National iAwards

Winners and merit recipients of these State and Territory awards can then go on to represent their State or Territory at the National iAwards, held in Melbourne. This pinnacle event in the iAwards calendar consists of a collaborative series of events, planned to showcase the inspiring achievements of our home-grown innovations.

Pitching - 28 & 29 August 2018

Finalists from the State iAwards will pitch their innovations live to an esteemed panel of industry leading judges, who will finalise the winners and merit recipients in each of the categories. The iAwards Program engages the most experienced and respected judges in the industry from a variety of backgrounds, such as C-level executives, entrepreneurs and capital raisers, commercialisation and productisation experts, academics, and technology subject matter experts. Each judging panel is assembled to ensure entries are assessed by judges with a variety of perspectives and experiences.

PitchFest & Innovation Showcase - 30 August 2018

PitchFest 2018 is your opportunity to hear from a range of this year’s iAwards finalists, as they pitch their innovations to our esteemed panel and live audience. This dynamic Pitchfest will throw down the gauntlet for future innovations, and is sure to inspire and motivate you to find ways to amplify innovation in your business. There will also be the opportunity to spend some time getting up close and personal with our finalists at this year’s Innovation Showcase. Entry to the PitchFest and Innovation Showcase is included in your 2018 National iAwards Gala Dinner ticket, so join us to celebrate incredible innovation and get a sneak peak at Australia's next outstanding digital solutions!

Gala Dinner & Awards Ceremony - 30 August 2018

The Gala celebration dinner provides the grand finale for the event. The iAwards Gala is the digital industry’s ‘night of nights’ and is an event you must have on your 2018 calendar. This event has traditionally been a fantastic evening, with plenty of opportunities to meet like-minded peers and potential investors. We promise that it will be a night of celebration, networking and fun – with more than a few surprises throughout the night!

Asia Pacific ICT Alliance (APICTA) Awards

National iAwards winners and merit recipients can then take the international stage at the Asia Pacific ICT Awards. As the only truly international ICT awards in Australia, winners of the National iAwards have the opportunity to support home-grown talent, compete with businesses from across the Asia Pacific region and achieve international exposure.

With the support and participation of 16 member-countries from the Asia Pacific region, the annual APICTA competition, where all entrants are already winners of ICT related award schemes in member economies, is regarded as a quality, prestigious and ‘best-of-the-best’ award. It offers top innovators and technologies the opportunity to shine on a global platform, and pitch for the chance to receive a highly coveted international ICT award.