The iAwards Competition

The iAwards is Australia’s longest running and most broadly scoped innovation recognition program, promoting excellence in the Australian digital ecosystem from the likes of Google Maps, Atlassian, Wotif and WiseTech Global. The iAwards unearths, recognises and rewards excellence in Australian innovation that is making a difference and has the potential to create positive change for the community – whether this is at home, in the office or on a global scale.

2021 iAwards


Entries for the 2021 iAwards THE BIGGEST PITCH have now closed.


iAwards entries are accepted from innovators across the whole Australian economy. Whether you’re an individual, organisation or a student with an innovation that is solving a problem, there’s an iAwards entry category for you. You can find a full list on our Categories page, but these include:

Student Categories

  •   Prep to Year 12 Students
  •   Tertiary Students

Organisational Categories

  • Not-for-Profit & Community
  • Government & Public Sector
  • Business & Industry Solutions
  • Technology Platform
  • Start-ups

Competition Levels

The iAwards competition takes place over two competition rounds or levels:

State Level

All entries are first judged on a state level against the response criteria and scored appropriately. Our winners and merit recipients are announced at our state based awards ceremonies.In 2021, the Annual iAwards Ceremonies, featuring State and Territory Premiers and Ministers, will honour the best and most innovative solutions in each State or Territory.

National Level

Winners of these awards go on to represent their State or Territory at the National iAwards, held in Melbourne. This pinnacle event in the iAwards calendar consists of a series of collaborative events, which showcase the inspiring achievements of our home-grown innovators.

  • Pitching and Judging – TBC
  • PitchFest and Innovation Showcase – TBC
  • Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony – TBC

International Level

National iAwards winners can go on to the Asia Pacific ICT Awards. With the support and participation of 16 member-countries from the Asia Pacific region, the annual APICTA competition, where all entrants are already winners of ICT related award schemes in member economies, is regarded as a quality, prestigious and ‘best-of-the-best’ award. It offers top innovators and technologies the opportunity to shine on a global platform, and pitch for the chance to receive a highly coveted international ICT award.

Join the Community

Become an AIIA Member today

And experience the many benefits that come with membership

Join Today

Subscribe to our AIIA Connector Newsletter