The History of the iAwards

For nearly 30 years, the Australian Information Industry Association. (AIIA) has been driving an innovation nation through their iAwards program.

The National Awards for Excellence through Information Technology, now the iAwards, was first held in 1993 alongside The Australian Financial Review and the Pearcey Foundation. The aim was to recognise public and private sector organisations that had achieved business excellence through the application of information technology. The AIIA quickly went on to hold the awards independently, expanding the program to state level and extending the competition to students.

The iAwards is now Australia’s longest running and most broadly scoped innovation recognition program, promoting excellence in the Australian digital ecosystem from the likes of Google Maps, Atlassian, Wotif and WiseTech Global.

iAwards 2021: – The BIGGEST Pitch

To everyone who was part of the iAwards ‘The BIGGEST Pitch’ 2020, we hope you found the NEW format of the iAwards competition more simplistic and an easier process. Certainly from the feedback we received we have been encouraged to retain the same format into 2021.

Entry is free

iAwards 2021 – The BIGGEST Pitch is FREE to enter for every individual, business, company and organisation. We want to see how you and your peers are making a difference in people’s lives with your innovation.

Entry is simple

All you need to do is to produce a video (up to 3 minutes) answering the following four questions:

  • What is the opportunity that your solution enables and who for?
  • In what way is your solution different?
  • What is the technology in your solution?
  • What is the likelihood of your solution making a positive difference?


Registrations are now open – submissions close at 5:00pm (AEDT) on Wednesday, 31st March 2020.

Enter now

2020 iAwards – The BIGGEST Pitch: Competition with a Difference
The climate created by COVID-19 pandemic posed many challenges amongst Australians professionally and personally. We believe that when times like this occur, the opportunity for creating meaningful innovations is at its highest which means that now is the time to support and showcase great innovation by committing to the 2020 iAwards. 2020 saw the iAwards flipped on its head to make it a competition that better suits the current environment by simplifying the competition and providing entrants with the opportunity to deliver their BIGGEST pitch!
2019 iAwards: Elevating Australian Innovation
The iAwards is Australia’s most prestigious and well-established recognition program, which over the last 25 years has unearthed, highlighted and rewarded excellence in the country’s ever-expanding digital landscape. Each year, the iAwards program elevates those Australian digital innovations that are seeking to influence and create positive impact for the community – whether it be at home, in the office or on a global scale.
2018 iAwards: 25 Years of iAwards!
2018 marked 25 years of the iAwards – driving an innovation nation through Australia’s longest running and most broadly scoped innovation recognition program. Over the past 25 years, it has unearthed, recognised and rewarded excellence in the Australian digital ecosystem from innovators like Google Maps, Atlassian, ThreatMetrix (formerly TrustDefender), Wotif and WiseTech Global. The iAwards has also celebrated so many others as they too took early steps on their innovation journey.
2017 iAwards: Innovation at its Best!
From the radical reinvention of the humble coffee cup, through to teams improving vision for people with macular degeneration; from businesses highlighting gender diversity to those creating better outcomes for autistic students; from advances in telecommunications, cyber security, agricultural productivity and data analytics to trusted public sector open data platforms – to name just a few innovations that came through us in 2017. The depth and breadth of Australian innovation surfaced in the iAwards continues to inspire us all!

2016 iAwards
2015 iAwards
2014 iAwards
2004 iAwards
2003 iAwards
2002 iAwards
2001 iAwards

Join the Community

Become an AIIA Member today

And experience the many benefits that come with membership

Join Today

Subscribe to our AIIA Connector Newsletter